Benefit Sugarlicious – How Sweet The Kit?

by Juliette

Hello everyone.

I didn’t get many beauty/makeup related presents this Christmas but I thought I’d write a short article about one them, as it is rather nice set from Benefit.

I only own a few products from Benefit (eye pencil, mascaras and a couple of samples), which I love very much, so you can imagine how excited I was to receive a set from the brand.

Benefit Sugarlicious is a “deliciously nude…lip & cheek kit“, why, this sounds good to me. We all know how Benefit presents their products by now (cardboard packaging with retro design and cheesy messages) and this set is no exception. It comes in a sweet little box.

BenefitSugarlicious-1

The box contains the products (which I’ll get onto in a second) but also has a bit of “paperwork“, detachable cards with “tips & tricks“, nice touch, can be helpful for those who never used Benefit‘s products.

Like in any set/palette, there is a mirror on the top part of the box, this one isn’t fantastic, and I’ll probably never use it, but it isn;t one of these poor quality ones that distort your reflexion.

BenefitSugarlicious-2

Here is a shot of the products. All four are some of the brand’s bestselling products.

BenefitSugarlicious-3

I’ve done some swatches on my arm. All applied heavily then blended in by finger, on bare skin.

BenefitSugarlicious-4

From left to right, as presented in the kit and on the swatches:

Deluxe Benetint Mini – 4ml. This is one product I sure wanted to try. It’s a very dark pink/red liquid that can be applied as a stain on the lips or on the cheeks. It doesn’t dry as dark as I thought it would. I am a bit disappointed that the stain didn’t go on too well on my lips actually, it just wouldn’t stay on whilst it clearly stained my arm and it took me some serious scrubbing to remove it.

Deluxe High Beam Mini – 4ml. The famous highlighter, glad I finally get to try it out. It is a lot pinker than I would go for but at least it is nothing like anything else in my collection. It looks very good on the skin and I like it so far.

Sugarbomb blush – 3g. This is a four colours blush, mix all four to get the blush. Well, I have to say I am quite surprised with the swatch. It is a lot more orange than anything I expected from mixing the four colours. And, it is has a lot more shimmer than I thought it would! It’s just as shimmery as High Beam. I’ve got to see how it works out on my cheeks.

Ultra Plush Sugarbomb Lip Gloss – 6.5ml. I’m not one to wear lipgloss, I just find them sticky and I’m not too keen on glossy lips. The colour is sort of a coral/pink, a very nice colour really, but I’m just not a fan of lipgloss.

All in all, this is a very nice little set. It has bestselling products that work together or separately, and is a nice way to discover the brand. I’m looking forward to use those products in the future and see if I can make Benetint leave a deeper stain on my lips.

Find the kit here, for £24.50.

Have you tried any of these products?

Juliette

