Urban Decay Naked Basics – Back to Basics.

by Juliette

Hello everyone.

Do you guys remember how excited I was when I found out that Urban Decay was releasing a (not quite) all-matte eyeshadow palette? If not, you can refresh your memory here. The Naked Basics palette did come out on 20th December in the UK and is exclusive to Debenhams (for now). I had to get it on the day! I grabbed one for me, and another one to gift.

I knew the palette was smaller but didn’t quite imagine it to be as small as it is. I have an iPhone 5, and though the palette contains six full size eyeshadows, it is smaller than the phone.

UrbanDecayNakedBasics-1

The packaging is very nice if you ask me, Naked Basics might be very compact, but it is heavy and sturdy. Could be because the plastic the packaging is made out of is quite thick but also because there is a full size mirror in the top half of the palette.

UrbanDecayNakedBasics-2

As mentioned in my previous article about this product, what I find appealing in this palette is that all but one shadows have a matte finish, this is something that I feel was lacking in Naked and the Naked2.

UrbanDecayNakedBasics-3

I did some heavy swatches of all six colours on my arm. Every colour was applied with a clean finger, directly on bare skin.

UrbanDecayNakedBasics-Swatches

From left to right, as presented in the palette:

– Venus – soft, off-white. This is meant to be a demi-matte colour, I don’t find it extremely shimmery but it is my least favourite colour in the palette.

– Foxy – very light yellow/beige. This colour is available in the Naked 2 palette or can be purchased as an individual eye shadow. Colour is quasi invisible against my arm as it is so close to the colour of my skin.

– Walk of Shame – very light pinky nude. This colour can be bought to fit the Urban Decay Build Your Own Palette). I can only see it on my arm because it has a pink undertone.

– Naked2 – rosy taupe. New colour. I like taupe colours, this one is perfect to add a soft shadow to the crease.

– Faint – warm, dusty brown. New colour. I feel this one is very good for adding a more obvious shadow to the crease.

– Crave – deepest, darkest brown/black. New colour. Can’t say I see much brown in this colour, just reminds me of M.A.C. Carbon. It’s harder to get an even coat of this colour, but I’d say I always find black (extremely dark brown) matte shadows hard to work with. I suppose it could be used wet for tight lining though.

So what do I think?

I’m not really an eyeshadow girl, I kind of just stick  to drawing a very thin brown eyeliner line in the outer corner for my eyes for add definition and make my rather big eyes a little more feline-like. I keep this subtle and never wing the liner. So having these neutral eyeshadows is perfect for keeping the subtle eye makeup going. I like applying Foxy all over the eyelid as it evens out the colour of my eyelids. I then like blending a bit of Faint in the crease. If I do want something even more subtle (kind of not even there at all look), I replace Faint with Naked2.

The palette does contain basic colours indeed but they’ll only work with pale to medium skin tones. I feel like it is lacking in darker colours that would suit darker complexions. Saying that, maybe the palette can be used in a different purpose? Highlighting the brow bone or the inner corners of the eyes, rather than a full natural eye makeup?

I mentioned earlier in the article that I like the packaging, it’s a good quality product and compact enough that it could be put in a makeup bag for touch-ups throughout the day, or taken away on holiday.

Another positive point is the price. The palette retails at £20 ($27 in the US), this is a very good price for six high quality, highly pigmented, high-end eyeshadows.

The only not so positive comment I can make on this is that the palette doesn’t come with anything else, Urban Decay has always included, a shadow brush, a gloss or a sample of their famous Eyeshadow Primer Potion with any Naked palette, Naked Basics comes with no extras. This small detail doesn’t bother but I can understand why some customers might be disappointed.

All in all, I think this is an excellent palette to have, wether you are a beginner or a makeup addict. I feel like you can never have enough nude and matte colours.

You can get your Urban Decay Naked Basics palette at Debenhams, online or in store. Please let me know what you think of this palette, and tell me what your favourite colours are.

Juliette

PS: Though, I wouldn’t go out and buy the first Naked palette, I did get it for Christmas and will have swatches and a review up very soon.

