Joliebox December 2012 – All That Glitters… (not!).

by Juliette

Hello everyone.

I’ve received the latest Joliebox this morning and I thought some of you might want to know what to expect in the December 2012 box, All That Glitters

If you’ve looked at my previous article, ‘Glossybox December 2012 – Bejewelled‘, you would have read that I thought the presentation of the December Glossybox box was quite nice (apart from the very poorly printed and presented leaflet). This month’s Joliebox is a hundred times better.

Standard size box, amazing white and gold design, the Joliemag and indeed every other piece of paper are professionally printed and the bag that holds the products is also white with a gold cord. I have nothing bad to say about the presentation. Something worth noting is that the logo now says ‘Joliebox a Birchbox Company‘, I take it is now official that Birchbox bought Joliebox.

JolieboxDecember2012-1

This box has a truly impeccable presentation but that doesn’t make it a great sample box. I would have just usually waited to see what I’d received but I was quite underwhelmed by the Glossybox, and now thinking about it, by both November boxes so I had a peek at the Joliebox website to see what was on the menu and quite frankly, I was dreading opening this box.

First things first, as soon as I started untying the top, I saw one of these Bellapierre pigments, third time this year and I am still not excited about these. Please take the hint!

JolieboxDecember2012-2

Here is the content of the box, pretty underwhelming if you ask me, especially for a December box.

JolieboxDecember2012-3

Bellapierre Shimmer Pigment in Champagne – Full size. I’ve said it all above really… Third time I receive these this year. It will come a time when these are not new/exclusive products anymore, if that time hasn’t come already. Apart from the fact that a little variety between all the beauty boxes wold be appreciated, I am pretty glad that I did not received another obnoxious colour. This one is just a nice Champagne colour which is actually nice.

Dr Duve Hand & Decollete Cream – two sachets. So the back of the sachets says ‘New innovation: a combined hand and decollete cream for mature and demanding skin‘… I don’t have a mature skin, and prefer to not say anything about the demanding part. ‘Apply twice a day to the hands, decollete and neck and massage gently into the skin‘… Erm… good luck applying this even once, I can’t see how anyone would get to actually test this product with the two tiny sachets provided… It also kills me to read these three words at the bottom of the sachet ‘not for resale‘, I paid for those.

I Love… Cosmetics Raspberry & Blackberry Shimmer and Shine Lip Gloss – 11ml. I’ve said it before, I am not a fan or a connoisseur of lipgloss so for me it isn’t really a product I’m interested in. The product is dark pink with tiny shimmer particles, it’s sticky and smells like raspberry which just reminds me of children’s toothpaste.

Alvarez Gomez Agua De Colonia Concentrada – 1.5ml. I’ve said it before, I don’t like receiving tiny samples of perfumes, I can just go in my local department store and ask for some samples for free and I actually also get to pick which ones! I think what annoys me with the fragrance samples I’ve been sent so far is that they are all summer scent! This Agua de Colonia Concentrada smells very strong and citrusy, I don’t feel like it’s appropriate for winter, and I certainly wouldn’t want to smell it on myself even if it was the middle of July. Another big miss!

Color Club Nail Lacquer in Put a Pin In It – 7ml. I’ve never heard of the brand and so don’t own anything from it. I would never go out and buy this colour of nail polish, Put a Pin In It is a shimmery rose golden, but I will try it and I tell you why; I’m so happy I didn’t get the other colour available in Joliebox this month, Insta-This, which just looks like a bright shimmery blue…

Olay Regenerist Skin Cream – 7ml. There isn’t a single word of English written on the sample which is a little odd for something Joliebox sends their British subscribers. Good stuff I read Spanish! Apply a generous amount on face and neck… this is a 7ml sample. Most seriously though, this is aimed at more mature skin than mine so this is the second skincare product in the box I don’t see any point in using.

Yon-Ka Pamplemousse Moisturizer – 50ml. Now, this is a generous sample, what I would expect to get in a box I pay for! The sample also comes in a nice plastic tube packaged in a box so it really looks promising. It is aimed at normal to dry skin, that’s me right there. It smells like my citrusy kitchen cleaner, not good.

To finish up, and perhaps to help you swallow the pill, Joliebox included two chocolate bars in the December box, non beauty related but very festive, shame that Lindt is the brand of chocolate I don’t like, someone else will get to eat those.

Let me recap this box ever so quickly. I paid £10 (plus 2.95 P&P) and I got another Bellapierre pigment but at least it was a nicer colour, the two skincare samples are for older ladies, I don’t like lip gloss so I miss out on this (and the Lindt chocolate bars), there is another fragrance sample which I really really really dislike and the skincare product I would use smells of cleaning product. The only thing I will happily try is the nail polish and that’s because I was lucky enough to get the ‘nicer‘ colour.

I am annoyed and I am writing an email to the customer service as soon as I finish writing this article.

Juliette

P.S. : Another thing that is included in the box is a gift idea, the gift of a Joliebox subscription to a friend or family member. Pay for the subscription and use your empty December box to give them a code to get Joliebox boxes. It is a nice idea and quite a good concept but I most definitely won’t be gifting this to anyone.

JolieboxDecember2012-4

