Glossybox December 2012 – Bejewelled.

by Juliette

Hello everyone.

I seem to receive my subscription boxes later than anyone else, and only just got the Glossybox one (Saturday 15th), still waiting on Joliebox… Odd. Anyway, this article is about Glossybox and the December 2012 box, ‘Bejewelled’.

The box arrived in the usual cardboard box but it wasn’t the pink Glossybox we know… I like the fact that it has a festive design this month. I am very pleased with the silver and stars theme, well thought Glossybox, well thought. Not too impressed however, with the leaflet… It looks like it’s been printed at home, the ink is faint and the quality of the paper is mediocre. What happened there?

GlossyboxDecember2012-1

This is the last box of the year and I think it isn’t unreasonable to expect it to be the best box of the year or at least be a little special, and be relevant to the end of the year festive period especially after seeing that they thought about a festive design and called the box ‘Bejewelled‘.

So what did I get this month? A lipstick, a body moisturizer, a nail polish, a blush, a moisturizer and a fragrance.

GlossyboxDecember2012-2

As always, I will list the products below and give you my first impressions.

Argentum La Potion Infinie – 2x 5ml. I am still looking at different brands as I will be changing my current skincare routine when I finish the products I’m using at the moment,  The Potion Infinie is a white cream, it has a herbal scent and isn’t too strong, I can live with that. I’ve used it today under my foundation, it is very sticky as it dries on the skin, very unpleasant in fact. I did however keep it on and applied my foundation and concealer as usual and nothing move  during the twelves hours I had makeup on.

This is a high-end moisturizer for face, eyes and neck moisturizer, and I excepted it to be pretty good. I am very pleased with how the first day went and I will definitely use up the two samples but I very much doubt I’ll be purchasing the full size product, at £147/70ml it is a little excessive.

Seche Vite Nail Lacquer in Portobello – 14ml (full size). Finally a full size product! I use the Seche Vite top coat, and I’m very pleased to be able to try a nail polish from the brand. I received the colour Portobello which is a browny-taupe shade. It’s a dark nude, my kinda thing. I’ve only tried it on one nail and so far I can say that it is highly pigmented (only one coat required), not streaky and promising. I’d like to add that I am glad that I didn’t get any crazy colour for once.

Sleek True Colour Lipstick in Stiletto – full size. First product I ever own from Sleek, though I’ve heard of their affordable blushes and palettes. This is a matte lipstick, the packaging is matte and compact, the colour looks atrocious on me. It’s just a very bright orangey-red I would have never bought, even at £4.99. I would have loved to receive the colour Cherry, which is a dark berry colour. Another disappointment for me I’m afraid.

Rituals Magic Touch, Cherry Blossom & Rice Milk – 70ml. Oh… Another body moisturizer, I bet it smells funny… Not! This is absolutely amazing! The fragrance and so feminine and fresh. I don’t know how to describe it but I am absolutely amazed at how gorgeous it is, I just kept reapplying it all day long, I had so much on that my bedding smelt of it this morning. Not sure about the moisturizing power as I was too busy sniffing my arm. I am considering buying the full size product if I still enjoy this product as much as I have for the past twenty four hours.

Lemon by Mary Greenwell – 1.5ml. This is not a fragrance for me., at all. But more to the point, I am really, really, really, really annoyed to once again, get a fragrance sample in a beauty box I paid for. I understand that a tiny perfume sample is added as a bonus but it seems like one of the samples I pay £10 (plus P&P) for is always a perfume, which I (or anyone) can get many of free and often of my choice any department store. This is the third time I get a sample in three boxes (and I know Joliebox will be sending me one too, because ‘why not?’) and I only find it acceptable if the product is a deluxe sample like the Burberry fragrance in the November 2012 Glossybox.

As a bonus product, a Kryolan for Glossybox Blusher was included in the box. I’m not sure if this comes in only one colour but I received the shade Glossy Rosewood, a very pale pink, my kind of colour and I love cheek colours.

KryolanBlusherGlossyRosewood

So what do I think of the December 2012 Glossybox? This is not a very festive beauty box and I am very disappointed actually. Products like fragrances or just the fact that I often get unwearable colours made me cancel all my subscriptions months ago and this is the second month and I have not been dazzled. I’m glad that they included the blush colour as a bonus product but I am very unimpressed with the fragrance samples and the random colours I get. This is and has always been one of my biggest complaints, beauty boxes are really random selections of not so exclusive products…

All in all this is an average Glossybox box when it really should be a Christmas special one…

What do you think? Shall I just unsubscribe?

Juliette

