Advent Calendar – Day 1 to 12.

by Juliette

Hello everyone.

You may wonder what the title of this article means, let me explain. Back in October, I was thinking of getting a beauty Advent calendar this year as they were some good offers available. I missed out on the Ciate Advent Calendar, now thinking about it, I really don’t need twenty four new nail polishes. Also missed out on the Selfridges one… I looked at  the Liz Earle one, but then thought I’d rather not as the only product I really want to try is the Cleanse & Polish. I just decided to stick with a good old chocolate Advent calendar in the end… Until I saw all the UK YouTubers open theirs on Vlogmas…

The YOU Advent Beauty Calendar caught my attention and I had to track one down, funnily enough, whilst it was already days into December, it is still in stock, and I was pleased to see how affordable it was compared to other beauty Advent calendars I looked at. It costs £59.95 plus £2.95 P&P (though I didn’t pay any delivery charges for some reason) and is actually worth over £210.

I’ve received it today and I am so impressed. The calendar is quite big and heavy, it has an enormous fuchsia bow at the front and when you open it, you see all the windows, some small some big, all very exciting.

YOUBeautyAdventCalendar

Because I’ve obviously opened twelve windows today, I won’t be writing an article for each product but I will list them in this post and tell you what are my first impressions. I may write individual reviews for some of the products, when I’ve actually tried and tested them.

AdventCalendarDays1To12

Day 1 – Mavala Nail Color in 385 Rouge Rubis.

I have never heard of this brand. The nail  polish came in a very sweet winged packaging, it can actually be hung on the Christmas tree as a decoration. It’s quite a small bottle (5ml) and the colour is festive red with a lot of tiny red sparkles, it applied quite well but doesn’t have a smooth finish. It is a nice colour for the Christmas season I suppose, but nothing I would personally buy or wear it as I generally stick to more conservative colours.

Day 2 –  The Vintage Cosmetic Company Eyelash Curler.

I was thinking of getting a new eyelash curler as my Number 7 one is on its last leg. I had my eyes on the Shu Uemura one as it gets rave reviews and I like the look of the Karl Lagerfeld Mon Shu one. I’m quite pleased to get to try the The Vintage Cosmetic Company one as I never owned anything from that company but my first impressions are not to good if I’m honest. The product seems a little flimsy and I think the pad has to be readjusted as it seems to have come out of the ridge, the good thing is though it comes with two replacement pads. I’ll still try it, who knows, it might be an amazing product?

Day 3 – Benefit They’re Real! mascara.

I love love love my Benefit mascaras, I own both the black and the brown BADgal ones and I’m pretty chuffed to get this one to try out. Really looking forward to trying it and see if it’s as good as the ones I have.

Day 4 – L’Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream.

If you read my blog for a little while, you know I loved this product when I first tried it as a sample and loved it even more when I got an even bigger sample of it just before I was going to buy the full size product. Well this is pretty much the third sample in as many months and it doesn’t look like I’ll ever have to buy it full size. Good good good.

Day 5 – Richard Ward Couture Hair Volumiser Root Booster.

Never heard of the brand but I recently changed my entire hair care products (article to follow soon) and was thinking of adding a volumising product so yes, very good timing there and it does smell very nice.

Day 6 – Espa Super Active Lift & Firm Intensive Eye Serum and Moisturizer.

These two samples come in a nice box that slides open like a matchbox. I think these products are targeted at maturing skin, I’m not quite there yet so might give it to someone who could benefit from it. Bt again, I do like trying out samples so I might end up using it…

Day 7 – Perricone MD No Foundation Foundation.

No Foundation Foundation‘, I like the sound of that. So… the colour looks good, I like the texture on the back of my hand, but it smells like smoked salmon, you read that right, ‘it smells like smoked salmon’. I am aware of the enormity of what I just stated but I asked my partner to smell it and he does agree with me… I will still try it out as it does look very promising but I really hope the ‘scent‘ doesn’t linger too long on my skin.

Day 8 – Philosophy Purity 3-in-1 Cleanser for Face and Eyes.

I wanted to try this cleanser out so I was excited to see it behind the window number 8. I am not too keen on the scent if I’m honest, but this shouldn’t matter too much, I will obviously rinse it off anyway.

Day 9 – BioEffect EGF Serum.

This serum comes in such a cute tiny glass bottle with a little pipette, this only won me over (weird I know…). I mentioned in earlier articles that I was going to change my entire skincare routine as soon as I finish the products I’m currently using, I’m glad to have a serum to try out.

Day 10 – Dermalogica Starter Kit.

So many skincare products to try! This one is a full system, cleansing gel, daily microfoliant, smoothing cream and eye cream. The samples are not too big and i think i only have enough for a couple of days but hopefully this would be enough to help me make up my mind. The spa I go to uses Dermalogica and I never had a bad reaction to these products so it should go fairly smoothly.

Day 11 – Jo Hansford Intensive Masque.

Very citrusy hair mask for coloured hair. I will definitely try it out even if my hair isn’t coloured.

Day 12 – balance Me Radiance Face Oil.

I’ve got pretty dry skin and it’s just gotten worth with the sudden drop in temperature so I hope this will help as a targeted treatment. I’ll let you know if it’s anything worth writing about.

And there you have it, twelve first days of the YOU Advent Beauty Calendar! I am pleased with most products and I am really looking forward to opening the twelve remaining windows. I will post a daily article with my first impressions so check my blog daily (or maybe subscribe via email?) to see what I get next.

If you want your own YOU Advent Beauty Calendar, it s still available here. I’ve personally decided to try to avoid looking at what’s in the calendar but if you want to see before buying to avoid disappointment, the full content is shown on the website.

Juliette

