Juliette's Dressing Table

"A woman who doesn't wear perfume has no future" Gabrielle 'Coco' Chanel

November Favourites.

Hello everyone.

Terribly sorry to be late with my monthly favourites this month… I was actually wondering if I’d post any for November 2012 as I’ve not been using anything new worth mentioning if I’m honest. I’ve spent most of November working at home on my university projects, sat at a desk wearing very little makeup in some comfortable clothe and slippers…

I still wanted to write a little something about products I use daily and what brushes I use to apply them. So, here we go, this is what I’ve been wearing in November.

November2012Favourites

YSL Le Teint Touche Éclat in BD40 – £28, available here. This is still my favourite foundation, even more so now that the weather is gone super cold and my skin a lot drier. Have a read of my review here.

Real Techniques Buffing Brush – available at here as part of the Real Techniques Core Collection, four brushes for £21.99. I used to apply my YSL foundation with a standard Sigma F60 brush but I find I much prefer the finish I get when I use this buffing brush.

M.A.C. Studio Sculpt Concealer – £14.50. I’m not sure why I can’t find it on the M.A.C. website anymore but it is still available at my local store. I would never use this under my eyes but it does a great job at concealing blemishes or dark spots anywhere else on the face. I use the shade NC30.

Sigma F70 Concealer Brush – $10 here, worldwide delivery available. This is a standard concealer brush, I use it with the concealer I just mentioned and it’s very good for applying thick but even layer of product on blemishes.

CHANEL Soleil Tan de CHANEL Bronze Universal Bronzing Makeup Base – £30, available here. This is my favourite bronzer and I use it for both contouring or just bronzing. If you’ve been following my blog for a little while, you already know this product always makes it in my monthly favourites…

Real Techniques Contour Brush – available at here as part of the Real Techniques Core Collection, four brushes for £21.99. Perfect size for subtly contouring the face using the CHANEL bronzer mentioned above, again, this brush has made it on previous monthly favourites articles.

And there you have it! These are the product I’ve been using every single day in November. What do you think?

Juliette

Christmas Gift Guide #2 – For Makeup Lovers.

Hello everyone.

This is my second ‘Christmas Gift Guide‘. Maybe you need a little inspiration with something to buy for a sister, a friend, maybe your mother, or even yourself? Well this guide will help if she likes makeup.

The nude eyeshadow palette.

If you’re thinking of buying eyeshadows for someone, remember, getting nude colours is a lesser risk than going for statement colours. I’ve got a couple of suggestions that I believe would be perfect for anyone.

Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette – £20. This is a new product, already out in the U.S., still trying to figure out when it’ll be out in the U.K. (thought it was 20th December but my local Urban Decay counter has a release date for Boxing Day. But then, I went to another Urban Decay counter and the poor makeup artists seemed pretty clueless…). If it does come out before Christmas, it would make a perfect present. Read more about it here.

urbanDecayNakedBasicsPalette

Stila Natural Beauty Eye Shadow Palette 13.9g – £14.50 (value £78). This is a steal! With 13 colours, everyone should find something they like, and I think this is a great starter pack too. Buy here.

stilaNaturalBeautyEyeShadowPalette

The fancy palette

If you are after something special and fancy, then some of the following suggestions are limited editions palettes and they will make gorgeous presents.

Chantecaille, The Elephant Palette – £74. Four gorgeous colours, in a gorgeous palette, a little something special that will look lovely on a dressing table, plus some of the profit will go to The David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust. Buy here.

ChantecailleTheElephantPalette

Nars American Dream – £39.50. Well… This is a Nars palette, the colours are gorgeous just be aware that they are rather shimmery, but again, who wouldn’t want to wear a bit of shimmer for New Year Eve? Buy here.

NarsAmericanDream

Something for the lips.

Why not get a lip product?

DIOR DIORIFIC Grand Bal High Fashion Lipstick – £25. This is a limited edition lipstick, it comes in four different reds. Just look at this gorgeous packaging. Buy here.

DIORDIORIFICGrandBalHighFashionLipstick

Guerlain Rouge G de Guerlain L’Extrait Lipgloss – £29.50. This is actually a liquid lipstick, it’s super pigmented and dries almost matte, there are a few colours to pick from too. Plus it has an amazing packaging. Buy here.

GuerlainRougeGDeGuerlainLextraitLipgloss

Cheek products

It’s quite hard to buy face products for someone else, I personally wouldn’t want someone to get me foundation or concealer but bronzer and blush is always a good idea.

Nars Blush Bronzer Duo – £30. This small palette contains two of the most popular Nars product, the Orgasm blush and the Laguna bronzer. Both products are considered cult products so this is a perfect buy. Get here.

NarsBlushBronzerDuo

Nars Foreplay Palette – £39.50. Four cheeks products, three blushes and a highlighter, all in the classic Nars packaging. Again, a great present. Buy here.

arsForeplayPalette

Hope this second Christmas Gift Guide helps, check back for the third guide very soon.

Juliette