One shade fits all?

by Juliette

Hello everyone.

I’m sure no one here needs an introduction to what BB creams are, they are now makeup bag essentials in Europe. Well, I went out and bought one the other day, I bought it because it’s by Dr Jart+ and it is an Asian BB cream which can be purchased at Boots. Keep reading if you’re curious to find out what I thought about the Dr Jart+ Platinum Beauty Balm Cream SPF30.

Four versions of the Dr Jart+ are available, Water Fuse (forthose aged 20-35) which controls sebum production, Regenerating (for those aged 20-35s) it provides a good coverage for redness and spots and is perfect for problem and sensitive skins, Platinum has a high coverage and is very moisturizing (suitable for those over 30)and Premium (for those over 30) has a SPF40, is packed with antioxidants and has a low coverage.

When I went to buy this BB cream, there was no sample at the Boots store and none of the information I’ve given above about age ranges was available so I went for Platinum based on the informations on the box. I read SPF30 and antioxidants and knew not to go for the Premium one as I knew it was for more mature skins. Looking back, I would have done a bit more research and would have picked up the Regenerating one. But my choice is also suitable for me, although I’m not in my 30s yet.

The BB cream comes in a tube which contains 50ml of product. I’m not fussed about the packaging, it’s not fantastic but then most tinted moisturizers and BB creams come in this form, nothing new or revolutionary there.

The product only comes in one shade and it’s very pale, very grey and quite scary, it looks a lot darker on the following picture than it actually is in real life.

The consistency is very thick quite heavy before it is totally blended, it reminds me of products like the Bobbi Brown Creamy Concealer or the Laura Mercier Secret Concealer.

For reference, I am a M.A.C. NC25-NC30 (which I consider as a light to medium skin tone) and this applied so pale and grey on my skin, I started wondering why I even thought it was a good idea to buy it. I am glad to report that after a few minutes, it does oxidize and get a little darker, but I am sad to say that it still was too light for me.The product was opened and non returnable so I thought I might as well try it out and try to work with it. Because it is very pale I could see streaks as I was applying the cream on my face. I have to say it does feel really heavy on the skin and that’s not what I was expecting from a BB cream. I used my CHANEL Soleil Tan de Chanel Bronzing Makeup Base to warm my face up so it would be wearable outside without me looking like a ghost.

Here is a picture of the BB cream completely blended on my wrist, it has a very good coverage, it’s covered my veins very well and has a dewy finish.

It wears okay during the day but as I mentioned earlier I felt it was too rich and felt very heavy on the skin. I have very dry skin and I didn’t feel this BB cream was very moisturizing, I felt like it was just sitting on the skin really.

I also developed an eye infection the day after my first wear, forcing me to wear glasses rather than contact lenses for a few days, this could have been an allergy or just a coincidence. Either way, this BB cream didn’t work for me and it’s a shame because it didn’t come cheap. Though they are sold in Boots, the Dr Jart+ BB Creams cost between £18 and £24.

Now I don’t want to prevent anyone from trying this product, these BB creams do get very good reviews in the blogosphere so I suppose I just didn’t really get along with this specific one so I shall be giving mine to one of my friends.

You can pick all four Dr Jart+ BB creams at Boots, in store and online.

Juliette

