Cleaning your makeup brushes.

by Juliette

Hello everyone.

I’ve got a quick tip for you today. I had to clean my makeup brushes yesterday, and I thought I’d write a little something about the different ways of cleaning them.

I’ll just start by saying that you should aim at spot cleaning your brushes quite frequently, and deep clean them regularly as this is the best way to avoid breakouts.

They are many options available to you, let’s start with specialized cleaning solutions. Many cosmetic brands (Laura Mercier, Bare Minerals, Bobbi Brown, etc.) have brush cleansers on the market. I’ve personally tried two, Estée Lauder Makeup Brush Cleaner and M.A.C. Brush Cleanser. They are pretty much the same if you ask me. I’ve used them primarily for spot cleaning, as they dry really fast. Just put the cleanser on a kitchen paper and swirl the brushes on it, let them dry before using them again.

Other products I use for spot cleaning are plain old makeup removal wipes. I use a wipe a day in the morning to clean the foundation I mix on my hand when I’ve finished my makeup. I usually clean my eyeliner brush on it daily to avoid the liner drying on the brush. I’m not fussed about which brand of wipes as I don’t use them on my face, I currently use some St Ives wipes.

When it comes to deeper cleaning I use baby shampoo. Again, I’m not fussed about the brand, I just use a basic baby shampoo in warm water, deep the brushes in them then clean them individually in the sink paying special attention to foundation and concealer brushes. I then rinse them and let them dry on either some kitchen paper or a clean bathroom towel. I leave them overnight.

I’ve also read that basic olive oil was quite effective in cleaning the brushes without drying the bristles, I personally haven’t tried this but let me know if you have and how you got on.

Juliette

