On the road to better nails?

by Juliette

Hello everyone.

As I said in my ‘Late-August/not-quite-September-yet purchases’ article, I’m trying to get my nails in better shape. This is a short post to show you what my nails look like right now. I’d say they are very dry, especially the cuticles, and they are brittle and bendy; not how I’d want my nails to be. I understand that diet is another big factor to take into consideration when trying to get better nails but I won’t include anything that isn’t nail care related.

So here is a quick list of the products I am trying out, again, they were all in the article I mentioned above.

1. Leighton Denny Crystal Nail File.

2. Leighton Denny Quatro, 4 in 1 Nail File & Buffer.

3. O.P.I. Original Nail Envy used as a base coat.

4. Seche Vite used as a top coat.

5. Burt’s Bees Lemon Butter Cuticle Cream to soften my cuticles.

I will probably write articles about these products, when the trial is over. Until then, here is a picture of my nails this evening, just before I manicured them.

Before I end this post, here is a picture of my nails after a manicure and with a nude nail polish on. The polish is Ciate ‘My fair Lady’ and guess what? It is a full size bottle, and came free with the September 2011 issue of Marie Claire. The colour on the picture is pretty close to the one in real life, only a little pinker, I’d say it is a perfect nude for fair to light-medium skin tones, that’s not saying you shouldn’t try it if you are of a darker complexion.

What condition would you say your nails are in? Do you know of any ‘miracle’ products that could help me get healthier nails?

Juliette

