Clearly what I needed?

by Juliette

Hello everyone.

Today I thought I’d talk about an early August purchase.

I live with my partner and I currently do not have my own room where I could organize my makeup or exhibit my most valuable pieces of clothing like I would like to. So for now, I’ve been storing my makeup in some of my Beauty Box‘ boxes. I didn’t mind that the products where kept in small black boxes, I was stacking them up in a specific order and knew where to find what I needed. To be honest I even went as far as keeping my daily essential in a cosmetic bag, it was much easier this way.

Do we all remember when the world discovered how Kim Kardashian keeps her makeup neatly? These large acrylic organizers featured in ‘Keeping Up With The Kardashians’. I think this is pretty much when all the makeup addicts out there wanted to get their hands on the same organizers.


The Kardashians Makeup Storage

I wanted to get something similar to store and display makeup products, nothing quite so big as I would only use it for my most used products. When I read  back in July that Muji was finally releasing their Acrylic 5 Drawers Box in Europe (and that they will be in limited quantity only) I marked the date on my diary! ‘First week of August’ they said, I was on the website every single day making sure I’d be there when it became available and that I wouldn’t miss out on this incredible product.

It finally became available and I snatched mine for £24.95, I couldn’t wait to received it. It came in the post a few days later, it was well packed, I had to go through layers of protective foam. And tadah!

Love at first sight, simple, compact, strong. I could’t wait to go through my makeup and reorganize my collection. At that time, my Soleil Tan de Chanel Bronze Universel Makeup Base was my favourite product, it did not fit in the drawers… It did not fit, it was too big, the drawers were not deep enough. In fact, none of my M.A.C. Paint Pots or any of my foundations would fit.

I was and still am disappointed with this, I know that Muji sells drawers systems deep enough for bigger items. I guess I assumed this Acrylic 5 Drawers Box would be too, I was wrong. All I managed to put in were pencils, mascaras, blushes and concealers while I obviously wanted to also fit in my most used foundations and my favourite bronze should go in this storage.

I do not know if I was still able to return in but the truth is though I couldn’t use it for the original purpose I bought the organizer for, I still liked it very much. I put it in my bathroom on top of a nice furniture. I put cotton buds and other essentials as well as small makeup items in there.

My plan is to avoid getting anything until I know exactly how I want to store my makeup and when I do, if I no longer require the box for its current purpose, I’ll just use it at my desk to store pencil, markers and other small office supplies.

So I suppose you’d like to know what I think. Well I like it for now and as I said above, I can already see I’ll do with it when I find something better for my makeup. And about the makeup storage, I definitely think that clear units are the way to go, especially if you have a lot of products. It’s much easier to find stuff in a clear box when you are in a hurry.

So when comes to day to get new makeup storage, I will probably go for something similar.

The Muji Acrylic 5 Drawers Box seems to no longer be available online, but if you still want to get your hands on it, have a look in store.

Do you have an acrylic storage system for your makeup? Which one? What do you think about it?

Juliette

