Tingle tingle little jar.

by Juliette

Hello everyone.

So as promised, I’ve tried out the GlamGlow Tingling & Exfoliating Mud Mask and so I can share with you my thoughts on this rather expensive mask.

I received the potion on Thursday morning. My first impression of the packaging : nice, heavy, big. Now by big, I mean very big, and when I opened it I found a very small jar, and it was very heavy too. Not that I’m complaining, it is very well packaged, and I like that very much.

I couldn’t wait to try it, so as soon as I removed all my make up in the evening, I tried it out. The product itself looks like a standard mud mask, it smells lovely, very fresh (some of you might not like it though as it has quite a strong citrusy fragrance). The texture is quite grainy, with lot of small exfoliating beads. I was careful not to rub the mask in to much when applying it. I also had to work fast as it dried quickly. I only had to use the tiniest amount of product for my whole face and neck.

I kept the mask on for just over ten minutes, I kept it longer than advised on the box as I thought it would start tingling but I didn’t feel anything. I just starting rubbing it in circular motion with damp hands. Remember what I stated above? ‘grainy, with a lot of small exfoliating beads‘? Yes, this gave me a serious exfoliation and I generally can’t handle exfoliating products without upsetting my sensitive skin.

How was my skin after rinsing it off? Clean, soft, smooth, amazing. I did not experience any stinging like I would with any other exfoliating potions and this is amazing. It did leave my skin ‘Noticeably Smooth & Soft‘ as it says it would on the box.

Now for those of you who don’t like strong fragranced products or citrusy smells, here is something to consider : the smell will stay on your skin (hands, face and neck) for a while. I used the mask at around 9pm and I could still smell the fragrance hours later when I went to bed.

Another result GlamGlow Tingling & Exfoliating Mud Mask promises is a ‘Skin Collagen Synthesis for a Noticeable 3-Day Glow’. So was my skin glowing for three days? Well, I can honestly tell you that I have no idea… I woke up this morning and had a tiny blemish on left cheek, I like to think that the mask pulled it to the surface, in which case I have just the product to make it disappear in no time. Apart from that, yes my skin looks good and yes I am happy. I’m not sure that I’ll have a 3-Day Glow so I’m posting this today, but if anything remarkable happens in the next two days, I’ll be sure to update this.

In short, I really like this mask. I didn’t get the tingling (thoughI don’t think I would have liked it anyway) but still, the exfoliating beads didn’t irritate my sensitive skin, my face and neck look and feel amazing. I am one happy lady.

Sure, there is the issue of the RRP… at £49.99 the GlamGlow Tingling & Exfoliating Mud Mask does not come cheap. As I said in my Late-August/not-quite-September-yet purchases article, ‘£15 off? I couldn’t resist’. I am pretty glad I bought it as this might be the only exfoliating product I can use and as I stated above, I only needed the tiniest amount of product for one application. I think it will last me a while.

For those of you thinking of trying it out, you can get your jar at feelunique.com (it is in the summer sale at 30% off until 9th September 2012 I believe). If you are not sure about spending this much for a 50ml jar, you can always go for 15ml here.

Have you tried the GlamGlow Tingling & Exfoliating Mud Mask too? What are your thoughts on it? Would you spend this much money on a mask?

Juliette

